Content:

All ARE faculty members are listed below.

Faculty Members
Faculty Member Contact Information Fields of Interest
Julian Alston
Professor
Office: 2157 SS&H
Phone: 752-3283
Email: julian@primal.ucdavis.edu
Economics of Government Policy Affecting Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Economic Development
Steve Boucher
Associate Professor
Office: 2105 SS&H
Phone: 752-1527
Email: boucher@primal.ucdavis.edu
Microeconomics of Agricultural Development, Rural Credit Markets, Agrarian Contracts, Economics of Information and Uncertainty
Leslie (Bees) Butler
Cooperative Extension Specialist and Lecturer
Office: 2111 SS&H
Phone: 752-3681
Email: ljbutler@ucdavis.edu
Dairy Production, Marketing and Policy, Agricultural and Natural Resource Policy, Biotechnology, Technological Change, Public Policy Issues
Hoy Carman
Professor Emeritus
Office: 3101 SS&H
Email: carman@primal.ucdavis.edu
Agricultural Marketing, Managerial Economics, Economic Aspects of Taxation
Colin Carter
Professor;
Director, Giannini Foundation of Agricultural Economics
Office: 3108 SS&H
Phone: 752-6054
Email: cacarter@ucdavis.edu
Commodity markets, International trade
Michael Carter
Professor
Office: 2103 SS&H
Phone: 752-4672
Email: mrcarter@ucdavis.edu
Development economics, poverty dynamics, rural credit and insurance markets, agricultural development and income distribution, land tenure and land reform
James Chalfant
Professor
Office: 2152 SS&H
Phone: 752-9028
Email: jim@primal.ucdavis.edu
Econometrics, Agricultural Marketing and Demand Analysis, Risk & Uncertainty, Agricultural Production and Supply, Environmental Economics
Roberta Cook
UC Cooperative Extension Specialist and Lecturer
Office: 2136 SS&H
Phone: 752-1531
Email: cook@primal.ucdavis.edu
Food Distribution, Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Marketing, International Competition and Trade, Mexican Horticultural Industry, Food Safety
Y. Hossein Farzin
Professor;
External Research Associate, Oxford Centre for the Analysis of Resource Rich Economies, Department of Economics, University of Oxford, UK
Office: 3109 SS&H
Phone: 752-7610
Email: farzin@primal.ucdavis.edu
Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Development Economics, Energy Economics, Microeconomic Theory
Dalia Ghanem
Assistant Professor
Office: 3107 SS&H
Phone: 564-5230
Email: dghanem@ucdavis.edu
Econometrics, Panel Data Econometrics, Environmental Economics
Rachael Goodhue
Professor
Office: 2146 SS&H
Phone: 754-7812
Email: goodhue@primal.ucdavis.edu
Agricultural marketing and organization, industrial organization, contracting, agricultural and agri-environmental regulation and policy, pesticide use and regulation, property rights
Richard Green
Professor
Office: 3111 SS&H
Phone: 752-1534
Email: green@primal.ucdavis.edu
Econometrics, Demand Analysis, Advertising and Promotion
Shermain Hardesty
Cooperative Extension Specialist and Lecturer;
Leader, UC Small Farm Program
Office: 3110 SS&H
Phone: 752-0467
Email: shermain@primal.ucdavis.edu
Cooperative Theory, Management and Finance, and Food Marketing Systems
Arthur Havenner
Professor Emeritus
Phone: 752-7079
Email: havenner@primal.ucdavis.edu
Time Series Analysis, Forecasting, Econometrics, Optimal Control
Richard Howitt
Professor
Office: 2120 SS&H
Phone: 752-1521
Email: howitt@primal.ucdavis.edu
Resource Economics, Environmental Economics, Quantitative Methods, Econometrics, Operations Research
Lovell Jarvis
Professor;
Special Assistant to the Dean, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Office: 3122 SS&H
Phone: 752-0227
Email: lsjarvis@ucdavis.edu
Economic Development
Katrina Jessoe
Assistant Professor
Office: 3106 SS&H
Phone: 752-6977
Email: kkjessoe@ucdavis.edu
Environmental and energy economics
Warren Johnston
Professor Emeritus
Office: 2109 SS&H
Phone: 752-1535
Email: wejohnston@ucdavis.edu
Economic and Resource Structures of Agricultural Systems, Commercial Agriculture, Land and Water Resources Economics, Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy, Aquacultural Systems, Economic Reforms in Market Economies
Karen Klonsky
Cooperative Extension Specialist
Office: 2150 SS&H
Phone: 752-3563
Email: klonsky@primal.ucdavis.edu
Farm Management and Production, Sustainable Agriculture and Organic Agriculture
Douglas Larson
Professor
Office: 3126 SS&H
Phone: 752-3586
Email: dmlarson@ucdavis.edu
Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Nonmarket Valuation, Risk and Uncertainty, Microeconomic Theory, Applied Welfare Economics, Commercial Fisheries Policy
C.-Y. Cynthia Lin
Associate Professor
Office: 3104 SS&H
Phone: 752-0824
Email: cclin@primal.ucdavis.edu
Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Energy Economics,
Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics, Applied Microeconomics
Travis Lybbert
Associate Professor
Office: 2155 SS&H
Phone: 554-1393
Email: tlybbert@ucdavis.edu
Economic Development, Poverty Dynamics, Risk & Uncertainty, Technology Transfer & Adoption, Intellectual Property, Environment & Biodiversity
Philip Martin
Professor;
Chair, UC Comparative Immigration & Integration Program;
Editor, Migration News and Rural Migration News
Office: 2101 SS&H
Phone: 752-1530
Email: martin@primal.ucdavis.edu
Immigration, Farm Labor, Economic Development
Alex McCalla
Professor Emeritus
Office: 3121 SS&H
Phone: 752-1529
Email: alex@primal.ucdavis.edu
Agricultural Policy, International Trade, Agriculture and Economic Development, World Food Policy
Pierre Mérel
Associate Professor
Office: 2147 SS&H
Phone: 752-9897
Email: merel@primal.ucdavis.edu
Agricultural Policy, Industrial Organization, Trade Policy, Geographical Indicators, Food Quality
Kevin Novan
Assistant Professor
Office: 3120 SS&H
Phone: 360-319-7410
Email: knovan@ucdavis.edu
Energy/Environmental, Industrial Organization; Public, Applied Econometrics
Quirino Paris
Professor
Office: 3105 SS&H
Phone: 752-1528
Email: paris@primal.ucdavis.edu
Microeconomics, Mathematical Economics, Econometrics, Mathematical Programming
Richard Sexton
Professor;
Department Chair
Office: 2148 SS&H
Phone: 752-4428
Email: rich@primal.ucdavis.edu
Agricultural Marketing and Trade, Economics of Cooperatives, and Industrial Organization
Aaron Smith
Professor
Office: 3103 SS&H
Phone: 752-2138
Email: adsmith@ucdavis.edu
Econometrics; Commodity Markets; Finance; Energy
Stephen Sosnick
Emeritus Professor on Recall
Office: 2139 SS&H
Email: shsosnick@ucdavis.edu
Daniel Sumner
Frank H. Buck, Jr. Professor;
Director, UC Agricultural Issues Center
Office: 260 Hunt
Phone: 752-1668
Email: dasumner@ucdavis.edu
National and International Agricultural Economics and Policy
J. Edward Taylor
Professor;
Director, Rural Economics of the Americas and Pacific Rim (REAP);
Co-Editor, American Journal of Agricultural Economics
Office: 2107 SS&H
Phone: 564-0443
Email: taylor@primal.ucdavis.edu
Economic Development, Population and Resources, Labor Economics, Economywide Modeling and Applied Microeconomics
Stephen Vosti
Associate Adjunct Professor
Office: 2135 SS&H
Phone: 752-8097
Email: vosti@primal.ucdavis.edu
Tropical Deforestation, Economic Development, Poverty-Environment Links, Bioeconomic Models, Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Economics of Early Childhood Undernutrition
James Wilen
Professor
Office: 3102 SS&H
Phone: 752-6093
Email: wilen@primal.ucdavis.edu
Natural Resource Economics, Environmental Economics
Jeffrey Williams
Professor;
Daniel Barton DeLoach Endowed Chair
Office: 2144 SS&H
Phone: 754-7625
Email: williams@primal.ucdavis.edu
Commodity Markets, Financial Markets, Finance, Public Finance, Mathematical Programming, Econometrics, Economic History